« ISAF QUICK TEST Part1 - PowerPoint Presentation | トップページ | STRANGE CASE Num.02 - Both Leeward and Both Starboard »

2010年2月13日 (土)

STRANGE CASE Num.01 - Both boats penalized

STRANGE CASES SERIES;
There are many, many occasions in the rules when both boats have obligations under the rules. Often the right-of-way (R-O-W) boat has to give room to a boat required to keep clear. All boats have to avoid contact even if the have right-of-way.

There are some 'Strange Cases' that I feel I really must let you know about.
#01 Both boats penalized
#02 Both Leeward and both Starboard
#03 Both boats shall keep clear of each other (give-way)
#04 Mark-Room Rules not apply even with overlapped boats in the zone


A common sense solution could be to have the two conflicting rules offsetting each other, and to go back to the basic rules.

奇妙なケース集
規則のなかには、両艇が規則に従わなければならない義務がある場合が多くある。航路権艇が、避けていることを求められている艇にルームを与えなければならない、こともしばしばある。すべての艇は、たとえ航路権があったとしても接触を回避しなければならない。

今回は奇妙な・不思議なケースを数件紹介する。
#01 両艇ともペナルティー
#02 両艇とも風下艇、両艇ともスターボード
#03 両艇とも避けていなければならない
#04 両艇オーバーラップにもかかわらずマークルーム規則を適用しない


常識的な解決法は、二つの矛盾する規則はお互いを相殺することであり、そのときは基本的な規則に戻ることである。


************************************************************************************

Strange Case #01 - Both boats penalized

A boat luffing above its proper course does not relieve a windward boat of her obligation to keep clear. In all of these situations it is quite possible (and not so rare) that both boats break the rules and are therefore should be penalised.

The situation is similar to what happens when a boat (L) comes in to leeward of another (W) and rule 17 applies. Rule 11 gives L the right of way; but rule 17 requires L not to sail above her proper course. If L sails above her proper course, W still needs to keep clear (i.e. comply with rule 11); but L should be disqualified for breaking rule 17. If W fails to keep clear and L sails above her proper course, they will both be disqualified. (ISAF Q&A 2009-024, now deleted)


プロパー・コースより風上にラフしている艇は、避けていなければならない義務がある風上艇にかかる圧力を軽くしてはいない。このような場面においては、両艇とも規則に違反し、それゆえペナルティーを課せられる可能性が高い(かつそれ程まれでもない)。

この状況は、艇(L)が他艇(W)の風下となり、規則17 が適用されるときに起こることに似ている。規則11 L に航路権を与えているが、規則17 L にプロパー・コースより風上を帆走しないよう求めている。L がプロパー・コースより風上を帆走している場合でも、W はやはり避けている必要がある(すなわち、規則11 に従う)。ただし、L は規則17 違反で失格とされる。W が避けておらず、L がプロパー・コースより風上を帆走する場合、両艇とも失格とされる。

Rrs17_jpeg-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Rule 11: ON THE SAME TACK, OVERLAPPED
When boats are on the same tack and overlapped, a windward boat shall keep clear of a leeward boat.

Rule 17: ON THE SAME TACK; PROPER COURSE
If a boat clear astern becomes overlapped within two of her hull lengths to leeward of a boat on the same tack, she shall not sail above her proper course while they remain on the same tack and overlapped within that distance, unless in doing so she promptly sails astern of the other boat. This rule does not apply if the overlap begins while the windward boat is required by rule 13 to keep clear.

規則11: 同一タックでオーバーラップしている場合
艇が同一タックでオーバーラップしている場合、風上艇が、風下艇を避けていなければならない。

規則17: 同一タックでのプロパー・コース
クリア・アスターン艇が、同一タックの相手艇の風下に、自艇の2艇身以内にオーバーラップした場合には、両艇が同一タックで2艇身以内の間隔でオーバーラップが続いている間、その風下艇はプロパー・コースより風上を帆走してはならない。ただし、その風下艇がプロパー・コースより風上を帆走しても、直ちに相手艇の後方となる場合は除く。この規則は、風上艇が規則13により避けている必要がある間にオーバーラップした場合には、適用しない。


ISAF Q&A 2009-024 (now deleted): 「qa20090247081.pdf」をダウンロード

|

« ISAF QUICK TEST Part1 - PowerPoint Presentation | トップページ | STRANGE CASE Num.02 - Both Leeward and Both Starboard »

Learn the RRS 」カテゴリの記事

コメント

コメントを書く



(ウェブ上には掲載しません)


コメントは記事投稿者が公開するまで表示されません。



« ISAF QUICK TEST Part1 - PowerPoint Presentation | トップページ | STRANGE CASE Num.02 - Both Leeward and Both Starboard »