« STRANGE CASE Num.01 - Both boats penalized | トップページ | STRANGE CASE Num.03 - Both boats shall keep clear of each other (give-way) »

2010年2月14日 (日)

STRANGE CASE Num.02 - Both Leeward and Both Starboard

Strange Case #02 - Both Leeward and Both Starboard

Here is a question about the Racing Rules that has been bugging me since it happened to me in a regatta over a year ago.
Here is the situation...

FACTS:

Boat 1 (Blue) on starboard tack is sailing by the lee.
Boat 2 (Red) on starboard tack is sailing close-hauled.
Neither boat changes course.
The two boats make contact when the end of the boom of the Blue boat brushes the sail of Red.

APPLICABLE DEFINITIONS and RULES:

Rule 11: On the same tack, overlapped
When boats are on the same tack and overlapped, a windward boat shall keep clear of a leeward boat.
Tack, Starboard or Port: A boat is on the tack, starboard or port, corresponding to her windward side.
Leeward and Windward: A boat’s leeward side is the side that is or, when she is head to wind, was away from the wind. However, when sailing by the lee or directly downwind, her leeward side is the side on which her mainsail lies. The other side is her windward side. When two boats on the same tack overlap, the one on the leeward side of the other is the leeward boat. The other is the windward boat.

QUESTION:

OK. Here is why I am mystified by this one.
The Blue boat is sailing by the lee and so her leeward side is the side on which her mainsail lies, the port side. Therefore she is on starboard tack.
The Red boat's port side is her leeward side because it the side away from the wind.Therefore she is also on starboard tack.
Clearly the boats are overlapped so Rule 11 applies.
But which boat is windward and which is leeward?
Both boats could claim that they were the leeward boat because contact was made with the the leeward side of the other boat. On the other hand both boats would also have to concede that the other boat is on their own leeward side.
So have both boats infringed Rule 11? Or neither? Or if only one has, why?

#02-両艇とも風下艇、両艇ともスターボード

1年前のレガッタで起きて以来、私に取りつき悩ませているRRSについての質問がある。

事実:

艇1(BLUE)はスターボード・タックでバイザリーで(風下に)帆走している。
2(RED)はスターボード・タックで(風上に)帆走している。
どちらの艇もコース変更していない。
2艇は、BLUEのブームの端がREDのセールをかする接触をした。

適用する定義および規則:

規則11: 同一タックでオーバーラップしている場合
艇が同一タックでオーバーラップしている場合、風上艇が、風下艇を避けていなければならない。
タック、スターボードまたはポート: 艇は、その風上側に応じて、スターボードタックまたはポートタックにあるという。
風下と風上: 艇の風下側とは、風向から遠い側をいい、また風位に立っている場合、それまで風向から遠かった側をいう。ただし、バイザリーまたは真風下方向に帆走している場合、メインセールの出ている側を風下側という。他の側を風上側という。同一のタックの2艇がオーバーラップしている場合、相手艇の風下側にいる艇を風下艇といい、相手艇を風上艇という。

質問:

さて、なぜ私がこのケースによって惑わされているかを以下に記す。
BLUEは風下に帆走しているので、風下側はメイン。セールの出ている側、ポート側である。それゆえにスターボード・タックである。
REDのポート側は風下側である、なぜならその側は風向から遠い側であるからである。それゆえにまたスターボード・タックである。
明らかに両艇はオーバーラップしている、そこで規則11を適用する。
しかしどちらの艇が風上で、どちらが風下なのか?
両艇とも、風下艇であった、なぜなら接触は相手艇の風下側で起きた、と主張できる。一方で、両艇とも相手艇が自分の風下側にいたこともまた認めざるを得なかった。
それならば両艇は規則11に違反したのだろうか?もしくは、両艇とも違反しなかったのか?または、1艇だけならばなぜなのか?Both_11_jpeg_2

ANSWER:

Mr. Dick Rose* opined as follows...  (*ISAF RRC Section C Working Party)

The boats are overlapped, since neither is clear ahead or clear astern of the other. The next step would be to figure out which boat is leeward, or in the lee of the other. The definition of leeward when sailing by the lee is the side the boom is on. Because the boats are meeting, neither the upwind nor the downwind boat is in the other's lee. This situation makes all but rule 14 non-applicable. If a protest were to come up for contact between boats in this sketch, the odds would be for the committee to toss both boats for failure to obey rule 14.

Point of detail:

I am sure that Mr. Rose is well aware that although Rule 14 does require  boats to avoid contact if reasonably possible, neither boat can be penalized by the protest committee unless there is "damage or injury".

解答:

Dick Rose氏はつぎのような意見を述べている。

艇はオーバーラップしている、なぜならどちらも他の艇のクリア・アヘッドでもクリア・アスターンでもないからである。次のステップはどちらの艇が風下か、または他の艇の風下にいるかを判断することである。風下方向に帆走している場合、風下の定義は、ブームの出ている側をいう。なぜなら、艇が出会ったとき、風上に向かう艇も風下に向かう艇のどちらも相手の風下にはいなかった。この場面はすべての規則を、規則14を除き、適用しない。もし抗議がこの見取図の両艇間の接触で提出されたならば、コミッティーとして可能なことは、規則14に従わなかった両艇をトスして決めることになるだろう(?)。

問題の核心:

規則14は艇に常識的に可能な場合には、接触を回避することを求めているけれども、損傷または障害を伴う接触がなければ、どちらの艇もプロテスト・コミッティーによってペナルティーが課せられることはない。

|

« STRANGE CASE Num.01 - Both boats penalized | トップページ | STRANGE CASE Num.03 - Both boats shall keep clear of each other (give-way) »

Learn the RRS 」カテゴリの記事

コメント

コメントを書く



(ウェブ上には掲載しません)


コメントは記事投稿者が公開するまで表示されません。



« STRANGE CASE Num.01 - Both boats penalized | トップページ | STRANGE CASE Num.03 - Both boats shall keep clear of each other (give-way) »