« Rules Quiz - UK-Halsey | トップページ | Animation Rules Quiz No.12 »

2011年1月 9日 (日)

読者からの質問と回答 「得点略語 (Scoring Abbreviations)」

RRS Scoring Abbreviations
In the RRS we use several scoring abbreviations, which we can find in appendix A under A11.
Here are two questions about abbreviations from blog-readers.
Question 1: other abbreviations not in Appendix A.
Question 2 : the use of DNF versus DSQ when Appendix P applies.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Question 1: other abbreviations not in Appendix A.
Ioda_result_2 When I am looking at the IODA Optimist World Championship 2010 Malaysia website, I can find a scoring abbreviation "RTD" everywhere in the results.
What is the RTD?
There is no RTD in the Appendix A of RRS, is there?


Answer 1:
I suppose the RTD indicates “Retired”.
The reason why I suppose is that there is not an abbreviation “RAF” anywhere in the results.
Although I am not certain of the supposition since a list of boats penalized under appendix P is not posted on the web, but I think the RTD probably means the competitor's action at the second penalty of Appendix P under rule 42

In addition if I will bother to comment on the results, "RAF" or "RTD" is not proper for the second penalty of Appendix P. Please see the Question 2.


On a final note: If RC wants to use other abbreviations in the scoring, the RC needs to define them in the Sailing Instructions. (For instance 'Discretionary Penalty Imposed' becomes DPI.) Otherwise it is favorable to use only those in A11.
There is no descriptions "RTD" and "DPI" in the SIs (except amendment) of the IODA World.


IODA World Championship Result PDF: 「results0701.pdf」をダウンロード


Question 2 : the use of DNF versus DSQ when Appendix P applies.
Images_44 We had a course for national judges here where there was a presentation in connection with Rule 42 and Appendix P. I became a bit unsure about the following: after the second penalty according to Appendix P, the penalized boat shall leave the race area immediately - that's clear. But which scoring abbreviation is used to indicate this penalty in the results?
I have had several experiences from many countries in Europe. I saw DSQ, DNF and also RAF. As I think, the proper code would be DSQ, because it is a disqualification. RAF is the least proper because the boat retired during the race, didn't finish.
I think it is very important to judge this question in the same way all over the world.

Whistle_3 Answer 2:                     
I have no official information, other then through deductive reasoning from the RRS and the Manual.
For the first penalty the sailor shall do a Two-Turns penalty under rule 44.2. If she fails to do so, the judges will record that and the scoring will be a DSQ (without a hearing).
The second penalty is to promptly retire from the race. If she fails to do that she shall be scored DNE.

Retiring from the race can also happen if you infringe rule 2 and cause damage or injury like in rule 44.1(b).
The moment you retire does have influence in the scoring abbreviation. If you retire after you have finished, you get RAF, but if you retire before you have finished, you get a DNF.

It is not DSQ in this case, because the boat has not been disqualified; Remember? The penalty was to retire.It also can't be a DSQ because that would be used for a first time 'infringer' failing to do a Two-Turn Penalty.
In my opinion the correct scoring abbreviation for the boat in your Q is: DNF.

Perhaps it should be something that indicated why she did that - in our specific case, because she was yellow flagged for the second time in the regatta -  but then we get to the slippery slope of when to indicate the reason for not finishing and when not. It is the same for a boat that retires during the race because she has some gear failure - in opposite to a boat that retires because she caused damage while breaking a rule from part 2. Both get DNF and the reason is not in the abbreviation.

PS; Incidentally, at the Beijing Olympics 2008, the Second Penalty is scored as DNF.

On the water jury actions list;
(from the left; Event, Nation, Race, Competitors Action, Rule, Jury Action, Infraction Number)
Laser - Men JPN 8 DNF  42.2(b)  rock  5  NIL 2
Laser - Men JPN 4 2TP   42.2(a) pump 6  NIL 1
Laser - Men GUA 1 DNF 42.2(a) pump 6  NIL 2
Laser - Men GUA 1 1.5TP 42.2(a) pump 6  DSQ 1
Laser - Men CZE 8 DNF 42.2(b)  rock 5    NIL 2
Laser - Men CZE 2 2TP  42.2(b)  rock5    NIL 1
Laser - Men CHI  9 NIL   42.2(d)  scull 2   DNE 2
Laser - Men CHI  4 2TP  42.2(b)  rock 5   NIL 1

Ooops a Japanese sailor is in here!

Please watch; http://www.sailing.org/olympics/racing/onwater.php
On the water jury actions list PDF: 「http__www_sailing_org_olympics_racing_onwater_php_20110108171655.jpg」をダウンロード

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
読者からの質問;
RRS得点略語

RRSにおいては得点略語を使用し、それらは付則AのA11の中にある。
略語について2つの質問がある。
質問1:付則Aにないその他の略語
質問2:付則Pを適用する場合のDNF
とDSQの使い方

質問1:付則Aにないその他の略語
IODAオプティミスト世界選手権2010・マレーシアのウエブを見ていると成績表のいたるところに得点略語“RTD”があります。
RTDとは何でしょうか?
RRSの付則Aの中にはRTDなどないのですが。


解答1
RTDとはリタイアーを示すのではないかと推測します。
推測する理由としては、成績表のどこにも得点略語“RAF”がないからである。この推測に確信があるわけではない、なぜなら付則Pに基づきペナルティーを課せられた艇のリストがウエブ上に掲載されていないからである。
しかしながら
RTDはおそらく規則42に基づく付則P2回目のペナルティーに対する競技者のアクションを意味しているに違いない。

さらに敢えてコメントするなら、“RAF”とか“RTD”は付則P2回目のペナルティーには適当ではない。質問2を参照。


最終注解: RCが得点で他の略語を使用したい場合、それらを帆走指示書に定義する必要がある。(例えば‘任意のペナルティー’DPIとなる)。さもなければA11に記載のもののみ使用することを奨める。
IODA Worldの帆走指示書にはRTD とかDPIの記載はない。

IODA World Championship Result PDF: 「results0701.pdf」をダウンロード

質問2:付則Pを適用する場合のDNFDSQの使い方
ナショナル・ジャッジのコースがあり、そこで規則42および付則Pに関するプレゼンテーションがあった。次に関し少し不確かな点がある: 付則Pにしたがって2回目のペナルティーを履行した後、ペナルティーを課せられた艇は直ちにレース・エリアから離れなければならない-ここは明確である。しかし成績表でこのペナルティーを示すためどのような得点略語が使われるのか?
私はヨーロッパの多くの国々でいくつかの経験がある。DSQDNFまたRAFがあった。私が思うには、適当なコードはDSQではないだろうか、なぜなら失格だからである。RAFは適当でない、なぜならその艇はレース中にリタイアーし、フィニッシュしていないからである。
この問題を世界中同じ方法をジャッジすることは極めて重要だと思う。

解答2
公式な情報はない、そこでRRSおよびマニュアルから演繹的な推論をしてみる。
最初のペナルティーに対し、セーラーは規則44.2に基づき2回転ペナルティーを履行しなければならない。そうしない場合には、ジャッジがそれを記録し、得点は(審問なしに)DSQとなる。
2回目のペナルティーは、そのレースから速やかにリタイアーすることである。しない場合には、その艇はDNEと得点しなければならない。

レースからリタイアーすることは、規則2に違反した、また規則44.1(b)にある損傷または障害を起こした場合にも発生する。リタイアーする時点が、この得点略語に影響を及ぼす。フィニッシュした後にリタイアーする場合はRAFとなる、しかしフィニッシュする前にリタイアーする場合はDNFとなる。

このケースにおいてはDSQではない、なぜなら艇は失格とされていない;憶えていますか? ペナルティーはリタイアーすることだったことを。DSQとなることはない、なぜなら最初の違反に対し2回転ペナルティーをしなかった場合に用いられるのがDSQだからである。
個人的意見では、質問にある艇の正しい得点略語は:DNFである。

おそらく、その艇がしたことを示す何かあったほうがよい-この具体的なケースでは、艇はレガッタにおいて2回目の黄色旗を掲揚されたので- その後フィニッシュしなかった理由と時刻を示すことは、破滅に至る道(審問なしの失格DNE)となる。何らかの装備の欠陥によりレース中にリタイアーする艇にとっても同様で-反対に第2章の規則に違反し、損傷を起こしリタイアーする艇にとっても同様である。両艇ともDNFであり、その理由は略語の中にはない。

|

« Rules Quiz - UK-Halsey | トップページ | Animation Rules Quiz No.12 »

Learn the RRS 」カテゴリの記事

コメント

コメントを書く



(ウェブ上には掲載しません)


コメントは記事投稿者が公開するまで表示されません。



« Rules Quiz - UK-Halsey | トップページ | Animation Rules Quiz No.12 »