« 抗議書シリーズ7(海外篇) 「艇は適時にオーバーラップしたか?」 | トップページ | Rule 42 Most Common Breaches Optimist - 規則42もっともよくある違反オプティミストクラス »

2011年3月 8日 (火)

抗議書シリーズ8(海外篇) 「艇はゾーンにいたか?」

Starlight vs. Bow#23
Another week and we had another arbitration hearing this time between Joe and Joseph in the 2nd race of Spring Series 2 Night 2.

Starlight Facts found:

1. Wind was 5-8 knots from the south.
2. On the first down wind leg of race 2 on May 24th, YELLOW (Bow #15, Starlight) was on starboard tack approaching BLUE (Bow #23) on a converging course.
3. At between 4 and 5 lengths from the leeward mark, which was to be rounded to starboard, YELLOW had to alter course to avoid contact with Bow BLUE amidships
4. BLUE did not alter course to keep clear of YELLOW.
Rules that apply:
Rule 10, On Opposite Tacks; Rule 18, Mark Room.
Conclusions:
Rule 18 did not apply per rule 18.1 because the incident took place before at least one of them reached the zone.  BLUE did not keep clear as required by rule 10.
Decision:
By SI 11.4c Bow BLUE is assessed a 30% penalty in race 2 on May 24th


This is a case where it must be determined if the boats were at the zone.  Clearly YELLOW is entitled as right of way boat to sail her course as she pleases if they are both outside the zone.  If they are on opposite tacks outside the zone, there is no limitation requiring starboard to sail directly to the mark and give mark-room until one of them reaches the zone. Because of rule10, port must keep clear even if it means she is forced to sail further from the mark than she would like. BLUE would have been better served to gybe and keep clear.  She could have worked to maintain her inside overlap at the zone when they gybed back toward the mark.  This would have been a better play even if she felt they were at the zone. I suggest when you are burdened boat, when there is a doubt keep clear, don’t force the right of way boat to alter course.

By the way I think everyone should give their boat a name and send them to me.  I like writing these summaries with boat names rather than bow numbers. I don’t have names for Bow numbers 2, 19, 23, 24, 26, 30, 32 and 34.


解説:
これは艇がゾーンにいたかどうかで決定しなければならないケースである。YELLOWは、両艇がゾーンの外側にいる場合、意にかなうように自艇のコースを帆走する航路権艇としての資格が明らかにある。もし両艇がゾーンの外側で反対のタックならば、どちらか一方がゾーンに到達するまでは、スターボード艇に対しマークに一直線に帆走したり、マークルームを与えるといった制限はない。 規則10ゆえに、ポートはたとえ自艇が望む以上にマークから離れて帆走することを強制されていると思っても、避けていなければならない。BLUEはジャイブし、避けている義務を果したほうがよかった。BLUEがマークに向ってジャイブを返した場合、ゾーンにおいて内側にオーバーラップし続けて進むことができたであろう。これが、たとえ両艇がゾーンにいたと感じたとしても、よいプレイだったであろう。君が悩んでいる艇の場合、避けていることに疑いがある場合、航路権艇にコースの変更を強いることのないよう提案する。

ところで各艇は艇に名前を付けたほうがよいと思っている、そしてその名を教えてほしい。この要約をバウナンバーよりむしろ艇名で書きたいからである。バウナンバー2, 19, 23, 24, 26, 30, 32, 34の艇名を知らない。

182a_2 戦術上のアドヴァイス:
1
.艇は、マークに近づいてくるとついつい「規則18,マークルーム」だけを意識してしまう。しかし忘れてはならないのは『規則18は、決して航路権を外側の航路権艇から、内側の非航路権艇に移転するものではない』と云うことである。艇の位置が内側か外側かはマーク回航においては重要なキイとなるが、航路権の有無についても意識することが求められる。

2. 当インシデントは時計(スターボード)回りのマーク回航であるが、よくある反時計(ポート)回りの場合、風下に向かって左側からマークにアプローチするのが賢明な戦術である。
なぜなら、マーク回航で内側の位置をとることができる、他艇に対しスターボード・タック(または風下)の権利が主張できる、利点があるからである。

|

« 抗議書シリーズ7(海外篇) 「艇は適時にオーバーラップしたか?」 | トップページ | Rule 42 Most Common Breaches Optimist - 規則42もっともよくある違反オプティミストクラス »

Learn the RRS 」カテゴリの記事

コメント

コメントを書く



(ウェブ上には掲載しません)


コメントは記事投稿者が公開するまで表示されません。



« 抗議書シリーズ7(海外篇) 「艇は適時にオーバーラップしたか?」 | トップページ | Rule 42 Most Common Breaches Optimist - 規則42もっともよくある違反オプティミストクラス »