« 読者からの質問と回答 「目標時間 (Target Time)」 | トップページ | 抗議書シリーズ10(海外篇) 「艇はマークルームを与えたか?」 »

2011年4月 5日 (火)

抗議書シリーズ9(海外篇) 「マーク回航で規則18が適用されない?」

Alcor vs. Corvus
We had our first arbitration hearing at Tugboats after the racing on Monday May 17th. If you look at the sailing instructions for this year Section 11 on Protests has been modified. Go to the SSSS Star Web page to see the full text regarding arbitration.

There were two protests YELLOW (Corvus) protested GREEN (Alcor) and GREEN protested YELLOW for two separate incidences on the course. The YELLOW protest was heard first. When asked if YELLOW hailed protest to GREEN at the first reasonable opportunity the answer from YELLOW was no. Therefore, the Protestee was not informed in accordance with 61.1(a), so the protest was not deemed valid and was not heard.

Next was the GREEN protest. It was found that GREEN did indeed hail protest and informed the RC of her intent to protest as required in the sailing instructions, so her protest was deemed valid and was heard. This is an important requirement of the rules that the word PROTEST is hailed. I recommend that this is the only thing you say when you believe someone has fouled you. This way if it goes to a hearing it will be a valid protest provided you inform the RC after that race as required in our sailing instructions.

Alcor For the protest of GREEN vs. YELLOW the following facts were found.
1. The wind was from the west at about 15 knots
2. GREEN was approaching the windward mark on port tack and YELLOW was approaching on starboard tack just above the starboard lay line (position 1).
3. GREEN tacked inside the zone in front of YELLOW. After her tack was complete YELLOW luffed to avoid GREEN’s stern, but not above close hauled (position 2).
4. YELLOW remained overlapped to windward as they approached the mark (position 3).
5. GREEN rounded the mark wide leaving about a half boat length between her and the mark. YELLOW ducked GREEN’s stern and established a late overlap between GREEN and the mark (position 4).
6. GREEN could not sail her proper course by the mark and had to haul in her main to avoid contact between her boom and the shroud of YELLOW. GREEN hailed protest (position 5) for not giving mark-room.

The rules that apply:
When the boats are on opposite tacks at the windward mark rule 10, Opposite Tacks, applies and rule 18, Mark Room, does not apply by rule 18.1(a). Therefore, GREEN is required to keep clear and is not entitled to mark-room. As GREEN passes head to wind she must keep clear of YELLOW until she is on a close hauled course by rule 13, While Tacking, and once her tack is complete she must provide room for YELLOW to keep clear by rule 15, Acquiring Right of Way.

After GREEN completes her tack YELLOW must keep clear by rule 12, On the Same Tack not overlapped, and after she becomes overlapped to windward she must keep clear by rule 11, On the Same Tack Overlapped. Because YELLOW obtained her overlap to leeward at position 4 from clear astern, she must not sail above her proper course by rule 17, On the Same Tack; Proper Course, while they remain on the same tack and overlapped .
Because GREEN was subject to rule 13 in the zone, and YELLOW was “fetching” the mark rule 18.3 applies and 18.2 does not apply. Rule 18.3 requires the boat that tacks in the zone to not cause the other boat to sail above close hauled, and she must give mark-room to the other boat if she becomes overlapped inside her.

Conclusions based on the facts found:
GREEN completed her tack inside the zone in compliance with rules 13 and 15 and YELLOW complied with rules 12 and 11 after the tack was completed by keeping clear. When YELLOW became overlapped inside at the mark GREEN provided mark-room by sheeting in her main and avoiding contact as required in rule 18.3. YELLOW did not sail above her proper course and complied with rule 17. Therefore, the protest was disallowed.


As you can see this one incident at the windward mark encompassed just about every rule in the book and the entire event probably took at most 10 to 15 seconds.
An important side note, which was a point of discussion during the arbitration hearing; if the fact had been found that GREEN tacked outside the zone, then YELLOW would have been penalized for not giving mark-room as required by rule 18.2, Giving Mark-Room. So it is important to have a clear understanding of where you are tacking when approaching the windward mark.


GREEN YELLOW の抗議において次の事実が認定された。
1.
風は西から約15ノットであった。
2. GREEN
はポート・タックで風上マークに近づいていた、YELLOWはスターボードのレイラインより丁度風上をスターボード・タックで近づいていた(位置1)。
3. GREEN
YELLOWの前でゾーンの内側でタックした。タックが完了したあと、YELLOWGREENのスターンを回避するためラフしたが、クロースホールドより風上ではなかった(位置 2)。
4. YELLOW
は、両艇がマークに近づいている時風上にオーバーラップを続けていた(位置3)。
5. GREEN
は、自艇 とマークの間に約半艇身離れて広くマークを回航した。 YELLOWGREENのスターンをかわし、GREENとマークの間に遅れてオーバーラップを成立した(位置4)。
6. GREEN
はマークまでプロパー・コースを帆走できなかった、そして自艇 のブームとYELLOWのシュラウドの接触を回航するためにメインを引き込まなければならなかった。GREENはマークルームを与えなかったことに対しプロテストの声をかけた(位置5)。

適用規則:
艇が風上マークにおいて反対タックの場合、規則10, 反対タックを適用し、規則18,マークルーム,は規則18.1(a)によって適用しない。それゆえに、GREENは避けていることを要求され、マークルームを得る資格はない。GREENは風位を越える場合規則13、タッキング中、によってクロースホールドのコースになるまでYELLOWを避けていなければならない、そしていったんタックが完了したら規則15,航路権の取得、によってYELLOWに避けているためのルームを与えなければならない。
YELLOWは、GREEN
がタックを完了したあと、規則12, 同一タックでオーバーラップしていない場合、によって避けていなければならない、そしてYELLOWが風上にオーバーラップとなったあとは規則11, 同一タックでオーバーラップしている場合、によって避けていなければならない。なぜならYELLOWは位置4においてクリア・アスターンから風下にオーバーラップしたので、規則17, 同一タックでのプロパー・コースによって、同一タックでオーバーラップが続いている間、プロパー・コースより風上を帆走してはならない。
なぜならGREENはゾーン内では規則13にしたがわなければならなかった、そしてYELLOWはマークを“fetching”(フェッチング)していたので 規則18.3を適用し、規則18.2は適用しない。規則18.3 は、ゾーン内でタックする艇は他艇をクロースホールドより風上を帆走させてはならない、また他艇がその艇の内側にオーバーラップする場合は他艇にマークルームを与えなければならない、と要求している。

認定した事実に基づく結論:

GREEN
は規則13および15にしたがってゾーンの内側でタックを完了した、そしてYELLOWは、タックが完了したあと、避けていることによって規則12 および11にしたがった。YELLOWがマーク回航中に内側にオーバーラップした時、GREENはメインを操作し、規則18.3で要求されるように接触を回避することによってマークルームを与えた。YELLOWはプロパー・コースより風上を帆走しなかったので、規則17にしたがっていた。それゆえ、抗議は却下された。


解説:
ここで分かるように、風上マークにおけるこのインシデントはルールブックのあらゆる規則を実際に網羅し、この結末にはおそらくほぼ
10秒から15秒は要したであろう。アービトレーション(裁定)審問を通じ議論のポイントであった重要な側面の記録;もしGREENがゾーンの外でタックしたと事実認定されたならば、YELLOW は規則18.2, マークルームを与えること、で要求されるマークルームを与えなかったのでペナルティーを課せられたであろう。それゆえ風上マークに接近する場合、どこでタッキングするか明確な理解を持つことが重要である。


戦術上のアドヴァイス:
1. 風上マークの回航で起きた典型的なインシデントである。ここで適用される規則としてまず規則18,マークルーム」が思い浮かぶのは当然のことである。
2. しかしながら判決における「適用規則」「認定した事実」「結論」を熟読いただきたい。
     -
ポート・タック艇(GREEN)に適用 --- 規則10,13,15
    
- スターボード・タック艇(YELLOW)に適用 --- 規則11,12,17
とあり、肝腎の規則18はどこにも登場しない。
最後の場面で規則18.3が適用されているが、当規則では「規則18.2は適用しない」とされていることから、結果的には当インシデントにおいては規則18,マークルーム」の大半は適用されないことになる。
ゾーン内で起きたインシデントながら、規則18.3”のみ”の適用という、不思議なストーリーである。
3
.刻々と変化する場面において基本的権利である航路権の変転を学ぶに格好の事例である。(第2A節航路権およびB節一般制限)
----
S63_jpeg_2 規則18.3 マークに近づく場合のタッキング
反対タックの2艇がマークに近づいており、そのうちの1艇はマークをフェッチングしており、もう一方の艇はタックを変更し、結果的にゾーン内で規則13に従わなければならない場合には、それ以降規則18.2は適用しない。タックを変更した艇は、
a)相手艇に自艇を回避するためクロースホールドより風上を帆走させたり、または相手艇が定められた側でマークを通過するのを妨げたりしてはならない。
b
)相手艇が自艇の内側にオーバーラップした場合には、マークルームを与えなければならない。

参考ルールクイズ:規則18.3が適用されるhttp://game.finckh.net/situat/tit_jpn/s63.htm

|

« 読者からの質問と回答 「目標時間 (Target Time)」 | トップページ | 抗議書シリーズ10(海外篇) 「艇はマークルームを与えたか?」 »

Learn the RRS 」カテゴリの記事

コメント

コメントを書く



(ウェブ上には掲載しません)


コメントは記事投稿者が公開するまで表示されません。



« 読者からの質問と回答 「目標時間 (Target Time)」 | トップページ | 抗議書シリーズ10(海外篇) 「艇はマークルームを与えたか?」 »