« 抗議書シリーズ9(海外篇) 「マーク回航で規則18が適用されない?」 | トップページ | Tsunami-hit towns forgot warnings from ancestors - 先祖からの警鐘 »

2011年4月 7日 (木)

抗議書シリーズ10(海外篇) 「艇はマークルームを与えたか?」

On June 1, 2010, we had another arbitration hearing. This time between Elentari (#18) and Puffin (#35) in the second race, at the leeward mark. The Arbitrators were Bill Sheldon and Joe Downing.

Elentari_2 Facts found:
1. The wind was 4 to 6 knots out of the southeast
2. Puffin (BLUE) was on port tack and Elentari (YELLOW) was on starboard tack approaching the RC boat which was the leeward mark to be left to port.
3. Puffin was sailing a course toward the mark at approximately 90 degrees to the course of Elentari and Elentari was heading dead down wind by the committee boat.
4. Puffin reached the zone first and was approximately ½ to ¾ boat lengths ahead of Elentari at the mark.
5. Elentari gybed to round the mark and could not sail her proper course at the mark as Puffin rounds close to the committee boat and there is not space for Elentari to round inside at the mark.
6. To avoid contact Elentari ducked Puffin’s stern and rounded behind and to leeward of Puffin.
Rules that apply:
Rule 18.2, Giving Mark Room
Conclusions:
Puffin did not give Elentari mark-room as required by rule 18.2(b) and is assessed a 30% penalty per SI 11.4c in the second race on June 1, 2010.

Because Elentari and Puffin were sailing courses that were approximately 90 degrees from each other as shown in the diagram, Puffin owes mark-room by rule 18.2(b) to everyone on the right side of the course.  The only question is can they get there in time for it to matter.  There are two parts to the definition of mark-room. The first part is room to sail to the mark, and the second part is room to sail her proper course while at the mark. Puffin did not prevent Elentari from sailing to the mark, however, because Puffin did not provide space for Elentari to sail her proper course while at the mark  she did not provide mark-room as required in rule 18.2. At position 3 in the diagram Elentari’s proper course is to gybe and to sail by the mark.  If Elentari were to have done this, she would have hit puffin at the chain plates and perhaps cause some serious damage. Her only course of action was to duck Puffin’s stern and protest.

What Puffin could have done is not sail as close to the mark as she rounded and allowed room for Elentari to sail her proper course at the mark. How much space is enough space depends on the conditions. In the light conditions in this case I would say 2 widths of a Star is adequate for Elentari to do a seaman like rounding.  In more wind and seas it would be more space than that, and In a blow you want enough space to avoid the mast as it comes down after her gybe; especially if you’re giving mark-room to those of us in the order of the mangled mast.


解説:
Elentari (YELLOW)
Puffin (BLUE)は見取図が示すように互いがおおよそ90度となるコースを帆走していたので、Puffinはコースの正しい側のすべての艇に規則18.2(b)によるマークルームを与える義務がある。唯一の問題点は両艇がマークルームに時間までに到着できたかである。マークルームの定義には2つの要素がある。第1の要素はマークへ帆走することであり、第2の要素はマーク回航中にプロパー・コースを帆走することである。PuffinElentariマークへ帆走するのを妨げなかった、しかしながら、PuffinElentariマーク回航中にプロパー・コースを帆走するためのスペースを与えなかったので、規則18.2で要求されるマークルームを与えなかった。見取図の位置3において、Elentariのプロパー・コースはジャイブすることであり、マークのそばを帆走することである。もしElentariがこのようにしていたならば、チェイン・プレイトでPuffinに接触し、おそらく重大な損傷を引き起こしていたであろう。Elentariの唯一の行動コースは、Puffinのスターンをかわし、次に抗議することであった。

Puffin
がすることができたのは、自艇が回航したようなマークの近くを帆走することではなく、Elentariにマーク回航中にプロパー・コースを帆走するルームを与えることであった。この状況において十分なスペースはどれくらいか。このケースの軽風の状況では、Star2艇幅がElentariがシーマンライクな回航をするために適当と云えるだろう。これ以上の風と海では、より以上のスペースとなるだろう、そしてブロウではジャイブのあとにマストを倒す時マストを回避するために十分なスペースが必要である;特に同じようにマストを曲げた艇にマークルームを与えている場合には。

Tachtical_mark_rounding_2 戦術上のアドバイス:
1
.外側艇であるPuffin (BLUE)は、内側艇であるElentari (YELLOW)に最初にマークルームを与えたが、そのあとElentariとマークの間にスペースが空いたので“思わず”割り込んだ(Squeeze, break into)、よく見かけるケースである。インシデント(抗議)にならない場合は問題はないが、Puffinがとったコースは、Elentariマーク回航中回航が終了したかを十分に確認した上でなければ、“極めてRisky”であることを認識しなければならない。

2.
内側艇であるElentariは規則18にしたがって内側のコースを帆走する資格があり、そのようにしたかった。ただし、見取図のようなコースを帆走せざるを得なくなり、プロテスト(抗議)となった。抗議が支持されたのは当然としても、Elentariがとったコースが「果たして適切だったのか?」の疑問が生じる
万一接触し損傷を引き起こした場合は両艇とも失格とされる
Riskを負う。
アドバイス『プロテスト・ルームに係わらないこと、ルームt”に入った50%の人はその結論が気に入らない。確率の悪い賭けである。』

3. 風下(ジャイブ)マークの回航において“戦術的な回航と呼ばれるものがある。すなわち内側艇でありかつ航路権を持つ艇は、幅広いカーブを描き、その後マークぎりぎりにかわす"Swing wide-Cut close", "Round wide and Come up tight", "Wide in, Tight up"という方法をとることができる、外側艇はマークルームを与えるだけでなく、同時に避けていなければならないからである。
「tachtical_mark_rounding.jpg」をダウンロード
このケースにおいて、もしも内側艇であり航路権艇でもあったElentariがこの戦術を用いていたならば、このようなインシデントは起きなかったかも知れない!

|

« 抗議書シリーズ9(海外篇) 「マーク回航で規則18が適用されない?」 | トップページ | Tsunami-hit towns forgot warnings from ancestors - 先祖からの警鐘 »

Learn the RRS 」カテゴリの記事

コメント

コメントを書く



(ウェブ上には掲載しません)


コメントは記事投稿者が公開するまで表示されません。



« 抗議書シリーズ9(海外篇) 「マーク回航で規則18が適用されない?」 | トップページ | Tsunami-hit towns forgot warnings from ancestors - 先祖からの警鐘 »