« ウインドサーフィン・アジア選手権派遣認定レース 江の島 - 写真 | トップページ | Hundreds Missing After Chinese Cruise Ship Sinks on Yangtze »

2015年6月12日 (金)

読者からの質問と回答 「ウインドサーフィン富沢選手のインシデント」

読者からの質問:
2013-12-10
記事「RRS2013-2016 緊急変更と誤記訂正 -ウインドサーフィン規則」http://ventoorientale.cocolog-nifty.com/blog/2013/12/rrs2013-2016-is.html 
に関して、読者<沖縄ウインドサーファーさん>から 2015510日(日)1315分、次の質問が投稿されました。
 「上記写真で両艇失格とありますが、ウクライナ選手の失格理由はルームを与えていないということでしょうか?」
 「また富沢はなぜ失格になるのでしょうか? よろしくお願いします。」

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
編集者による回答:
できるだけ早急に返事をするよう心掛けていますが、この時期大きなレガッタのレース委員長を務め
極めて多忙であったため回答が遅れました。申し訳ありません。

2008年の北京オリンピックで起きたこのケース(インシデント)に関しては、編集者も沖縄ウインドサーファーさんと同じような疑問を抱きました。あれから7年も経ちますが、当時親しくしている(オリンピックに詳しい)ジャッジに質問を投げかけたことを今思い出した次第です。
当時のメイルの「やりとり」が残っていましたので、下記します。〈注:文中にあるSenとは編集者の名前です〉

結論:URKからJPNへの抗議の判決は、JPN broke rule 11 and UKR broke rule 18.2(a). Both are DSQ. でした。
尚同じインシデントで、JPNからUKRへの抗議(No.73)は抗議の要件不備<相手に通告していない>のため Invalid(無効)となっている。

**************************************************************
Isaf_protest74_closeupOlympic Protest 74;
Wednesday, 27 August 2008

I received a Q&A from Sen about one of the Olympic Protests; nr. 74
He asked a couple of questions. For your information I've first copied the facts found, conclusion and decision from the panel as they were published:
-----------------------------------------
Protest No. 74;
Event: RS:X - Men;
Race: 8;
Protestor: UKR - Protestee: JPN
Protest details: N12


Facts found:
UKR on starboard and JPN on port approached the leeward mark with JPN on the layline. UKR gybed to port. Soon afterwards JPN established an overlap to windward and there was contact between the two boards. The two boards were approximately 5 seconds from the mark. The contact continued until UKR hit the mark. JPN luffed and slowed down. Neither boat did a penalty turn.

Olym_p74s_4
Conclusion:
JPN failed to keep clear as a windward boat. UKR did not make every attempt to give JPN room at the mark. JPN broke rule 11 and UKR broke rule 18.2(a)
Rule(s) applicable: RRS 11 and 18.2(a)


Decision: JPN and UKR are disqualified from race 8.
<右上ISAFweb参照>
---------------------------------------
These were Sen's questions (abbreviated; red)

In Protest No. 74, JPN broke rule 11, UKR broke rule 18.2(a) and both boards were DSQ. This case happened near the leeward (gate) mark, but which mark was not clear. Was it 3S, 3P, 4S, or 4P in the facts? I guess the mark is 3P or 4P.

There are relatively not many cases that both boats are DSQ. The typical example is that a keep clear boat breaks a rule and is DSQ-ed and the other boat with R-O-W breaks rule 14 and is also DSQ-ed.

While there are so many cases that a boat is DSQ under her breach of a rule and another boat is exonerated as the innocent victim under rule 64.1(b), Protest No. 74 is neither one nor the other in the examples mentioned above. Then by only the facts, I cannot understand why both boards were DSQ?

Please show me the supposed situation or the diagram.

-----------------------------------------
Jpn_ukr_sail_world_22Jpn_ukr_sail_world_21_4First of all, the protest involves surfboards, so we need to go to appendix B as well as the "normal" rules.
In appendix B a lot of rules are changed or deleted. For instance boards may touch a mark. They shall not hold on to it, but touching is no problem.
I've drawn the following TSS diagrams from the facts in the protest:


static image <右上ダイアグラム>
animated image (one by one) <省略>

All through the incident UKR was R-O-W boat. First as SB-, then as clear ahead- and finally as leeward boat. When JPN established a windward overlap she had no protection from rule 15 and if after her gybe UKR did not change course, JPN had also no solace from rule 16. When the overlap was established JPN had to keep clear.


She failed to do so and broke rule 11. Nobody forced her to do this, so rule 64.1(b) does not come into play.

The facts state that first contact occurred approximately five seconds from the mark. Five seconds is a long time, so initial contact occurred well before the boards approached the mark. It was blowing 14 - 17 kts in race 8. The course stated in the SI was a trapezium Outer Loop so mark 3P sounds about right.

Once approaching that mark, JPN - still keep clear board - had to be given room as inside board. Boards don't have rule 18.2(b) and 18.2(c). Both are deleted in appendix B.


Once you establish an overlap, the other board has to give you room to pass the mark.
By not giving that room, while JPN was inside boat, UKR broke rule 18.2(a).

Both boards broke a rule, neither was forced to do so, therefore both were disqualified.
UPDATE: 28/08/08; 18:22 hours


Photo from Guy Nowell on SailWorld.com <右SailWorld>

Bill Heintz <a mailing fellow> mailed me today with a link to a series of photos capturing the sequence of this protest. We can't see the initial gybe and start of the overlap, nor the distance to the mark, but it illustrates UKR's infringement of 18.2(a) perfectly.
Got to: Just Too Good To Miss!
Thanks Bill!

Guy_nowell_img_2135_2PS: 証拠となる? 決定的瞬間を連続写真で撮影したGuy Nowell さん、見事なものです。
彼とは韓国でのレガッタでご一緒したことがあります。<左から二番目オレンジコート、右端編集者>
富沢さんには失礼かも知れませんが、写真に付けられた "コメント" 流石ですね・・・・・

'Hey look! There’s a mark coming up!'   No way am I letting you in there...   See, I told you so...   ...but I can just sort of bounce off it...   ...slip round the right side......   ...and leave you in the soup.   Sayonara, mate... Protest, what protest?

|

« ウインドサーフィン・アジア選手権派遣認定レース 江の島 - 写真 | トップページ | Hundreds Missing After Chinese Cruise Ship Sinks on Yangtze »

Learn the RRS 」カテゴリの記事

コメント

コメントを書く



(ウェブ上には掲載しません)


コメントは記事投稿者が公開するまで表示されません。



« ウインドサーフィン・アジア選手権派遣認定レース 江の島 - 写真 | トップページ | Hundreds Missing After Chinese Cruise Ship Sinks on Yangtze »