« 読者からの質問と回答 「規則21:免罪の改定」 | トップページ | RRSはどの時点から適用されるのか? »

2017年1月25日 (水)

「規則21:免罪」事例 その1

Examples regarding Rule 21: Exoneration

ISAF Q&A: M 014 Q&A 2011-027

Published: 21 January 2012 (Now Modified in accordance with new RRS 2017-2020 by 'Editor')

Question 4
What are the fundaments of the difference between rules 21(a) and 21(b) with regard to rules 15 and 16?

Answer 4
When a boat entitled to mark or mark-room is sailing within the room or mark-room, she must comply with rules 15 and 16.
However, sometimes complying with these rules means that the boat entitled to mark or mark-room will not be able to actually round the mark.
This is why rule 21(a), contrary to rule 21(b), provides for exoneration for a boat entitled to mark or mark-room that breaks either of those rules while sailing within the room or mark-room.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- 

Example11_2Example 1: rule 16 (Changing Course)

Two boats, RED and GREEN approach a windward mark to left to port. RED is inside boat, entitled to mark-room, has trouble getting to the mark. She luffs hard when she rounds the mark and there's contact between the boats. RED is right-of-way boat, GREEN is keeping clear, and if RED wouldn't have changed course so rapidly, there would not have been contact. GREEN left enough room for a 'normal' luff.

RED breaks rule 16.1 by not giving enough room to GREEN to keep clear. Nevertheless RED is exonerated under rule 21(a) because she is rounding the mark when doing so.

CONCLUSION AND RULES THAT APPLY:
1.RED broke rule 16.1. Nevertheless She is exonerated under rule 21(a) because she was sailing within the
mark-room to which she was entitled by rule 18.2(b).
2.GREEN broke rule 11. Nevertheless She is exonerated under rule 21(a) because she was sailing within the room to which she was entitled by rule 16.1.

3.Both boats broke rule 14, but both are exonerated under rule 14(b). Because RED is a R-O-W boat and GREEN is a boat entitled to room.
DECISION:
Protest dismissed.



--------------------------------------------------------------------------
Example21_3Example 2: rule 15 (Acquring R-O-W)

There are big waves on the course. Two boats, BLUE and PURPLE sail toward the leeward mark to be left to starboard. Entering the 3BL zone Blue is clear ahead and gets mark-room.
While sailing toward the mark PURPLE becomes right of-way boat under rule 11. BLUE is not changing course but gybes between positions 2 and three. BLUE becomes right-of-way starboard tack boat.

Normally BLUE would be penalized for breaking rule 15, because she does not initially give room to PURPLE to keep clear. But because she is sailing to the mark, she gets exoneration under rule 21(a).

CONCLUSION AND RULES THAT APPLY:
1.BLUE broke rule 15. Nevertheless She is exonerated under rule 21(a) because she was sailing within the
mark-room to which she was entitled by rule 18.2(b).

2.PURPLE broke rule 10. Nevertheless She is exonerated under rule 21(a) because she was sailing within the room to which she was entitles by rule 15.

3.Both boats broke rule 14, but both are exonerated under rule 14(b).  Because BLUE is a R-O-W boat and PURPLE is a boat entitled to room.

DECISION:
Protest dismissed.

関連記事:2017-01-20『読者からの質問と回答「規則21:免罪の改定」』http://ventoorientale.cocolog-nifty.com/blog/2017/01/21-c6af.html

|

« 読者からの質問と回答 「規則21:免罪の改定」 | トップページ | RRSはどの時点から適用されるのか? »

Learn the RRS 」カテゴリの記事

コメント

コメントを書く



(ウェブ上には掲載しません)


コメントは記事投稿者が公開するまで表示されません。



« 読者からの質問と回答 「規則21:免罪の改定」 | トップページ | RRSはどの時点から適用されるのか? »