« 読者からの質問と回答 「ウインドサーフィン競技規則におけるRRS 17」 | トップページ | AC: Blue flashing: The yacht has a penalty #1 »

2017年6月 1日 (木)

AC: Umpires make mistakes too!

20170529_ac35live_rp6168_2AC Umpires make mistakes too! アンパイアもミスを犯す!

2017-04-29 Louis Vuitton America's Cup Qualifiers, Round Robin 1, Race14, SWEDEN (Artemis Racing) vs NZ (Emirates Team NZL) 戦においてアンパイア・ミス。
レース後、チーフ・アンパイアが「ミスを認める」と表明した。

しかしながら、この判決は変わらない、なぜなら現場の判決であり、アンパイアの判決はもとのまま(有効)である。

アンパイア、ジャッジの判決に関し、オリンピック・世界選手権等の『フリート・レース』では、抗議審問での「認定した事実」「結論と適用規則」「判決」が大会ウエブとか公式掲示板に公開されるが、今回のアメリカスカップのような『マッチ・レース』では、その場のアンパイアの判決が全てで、事後に記録等が公開される仕組みはない。
そこでヴィデオ・写真を見ながら『自分がアンパイアになった積り』で、勝手にアンパイア・デシジョンを下してみた。あくまでも想像である。


<赤字:2017-06-15訂正: 場面が正しくは風上マークにも拘わらず、風下マークと間違えていたため>

SportsNavi 実況から編集者が想像する;
「レース中に下されたアンパイア・デシジョン」 
SWE is penalized.
1. NZL
SWE両艇スターボード・タックで、オーバーラップして風下風上マーク・Gate6 (Mark 6S) に接近していた。
2. 内側艇であるNZLが先行艇としてゾーン(3艇身ゾーン)に到達した。外側艇であるSWEはその時点でゾーンまで2.5艇身の位置にあった。
3.
その直後NZLSWEとの接触を回避するためベアウエイした。 SWENZLのベアウエイに合せるタイミングでベアウエイしながらゾーンに到達した。
4. 外側艇であるSWEは、内側艇であるNZLにマークルームを与えなかった。
5. SWERRS 18.2(b)Mark-Room>に違反したのでペナルティーを課す。<RRS AC Rules:2艇身Penalty


M2570_ac35racecoursemap14dec2_2「レース後チーフ・アンパイアが訂正したデシジョン」   No Penalty.
1.
=同上
2. =
同上
3. NZLはフィニッシュ・マークに向かうためベアウエイした。SWENZLのベアウエイ終了の後、同じく
ベアウエイしながらゾーンに到達した。その後両艇はコース変更をすることなく並走した。
4. 外側艇であるSWEは、内側艇であるNZLRRS18.2(b)に基づき十分なマークルームを与えた。
5. 両艇とも何らの規則も違反していない。<Green Flag

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

Sailing_worldArtemis Racing: Blue Light Special
SAILING WORLD, May 30, 2017 <an extract>

Artemis Racing ends the first Round Robin on the receiving end of an irreversible umpire mistake, adding one final twist to the best match of the regatta thus far.

The blue light lit on Magic Blue moments later, much to the surprise of both Percy and Outteridge, both of whom were incredulous. “Absolute rubbish,” is how they described the umpire call in the moment. Bewilderment and frustration swept across the crew, and with the finish line so close, all they could do was slow down and watch as Emirates Team New Zealand whistled past and snatched the point.

M3854_crop169014_1024x576_proport_2Chief Umpire Richard Slater immediately explained to the broadcast commentators that it was a port-starboard infraction that earned Artemis its penalty. With umpires on the water and in the booth using sophisticated positioning software, calls on the water are final. Unfortunately, Outteridge would learn, umpires make mistakes too.

In a statement issued a few hours after racing, Mr. Slater admitted as much: “When they were coming down to the final gate mark, with the information we had at the time, we had Artemis Racing on port, as the keep clear boat, and Emirates Team New Zealand on starboard, and our job is to be certain that Artemis Racing were keeping clear, and we weren’t at that time certain they were keeping clear,” he said. “We have had a discussion, we have looked at other evidence, information and data, and I think if we were to go back in time and make that call, we would green that call and not penalize Artemis.”

Full Text Copies:「1_www_sailingworld_com_bluelightspecial.jpg」をダウンロード 「2_www.sailingworld blue-light-specia 2pages hl.pdf」をダウンロード
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Www_americascup_com_en_news_2597__2ACRM perspective on Artemis Racing penalty decision
AMERICASCUP.COM, 29 May 2017 <the full text>

America’s Cup Race Management (ACRM), the independent organization that oversees the sporting and competitive rules of the America’s Cup, has announced its perspective on the contentious penalty given to Artemis Racing in race 14 of the first Round Robin stage of the Louis Vuitton America’s Cup Qualifiers.

As has been seen in the first three days of racing in the 35th America’s Cup, the competition has been closer than ever. The outcome of each race is unpredictable and races are being won and lost by extremely fine margins. This means that the pressure on the umpires to make the correct calls is greater than ever before.

As in all sports, umpires are not infallible and on this occasion, even with the best sailing umpires in the world that are overseeing the 35th America’s Cup, they have admitted that their decision, on reflection, may have been different.

In an interview which can be seen here, Richard Slater, ACRM’s Chief Umpire said, “When they were coming down to the final gate mark, with the information we had at the time, we had Artemis Racing on port, as the keep clear boat, and Emirates Team New Zealand on starboard, and our job is to be certain that Artemis Racing were keeping clear, and we weren’t at that time certain they were keeping clear.
“We have had a discussion, we have looked at other evidence, information and data, and I think if we were to go back in time and make that call, we would green that call and not penalize Artemis.”

Asked if that decision could be changed, Slater answered, “No, it is a field of play decision and the decision of the umpire stands.”

The results of race 14 of Round Robin 1 in the Louis Vuitton America’s Cup Qualifiers stand.

Copies:「www_americascup_com_en_news_2597_acrmperspectiveonartemisracingpenaltydecision_html_20170531.jpg」をダウンロード 「acrm_perspective_on_artem_hl.pdf」をダウンロード

SportsNavi実況:

1_img_20170531_015213_2 2_img_20170531_015711_2 3_img_20170531_015828_3cs_2 4_img_20170531_015850_2 5_img_20170531_015912_2 6_img_20170531_015930_2 7_img_20170531_015946_2

*29th May 35th America's Cup Race Round Up
https://youtu.be/lMzDscMm9Ms <iframe width="640" height="360" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/lMzDscMm9Ms" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

****
2017-07-12 updated: Related articles:「www_sailingscuttlebutt_com_2017_06_15_americas-cup-umpiring-spotlight.jpg」をダウンロード 「www_sailingscuttlebutt_com_2017_06_15_americas-cup-umpiring-spotlight.pdf」をダウンロード 「www_tvnz_co_nz_one-news_sport_other_americas-cup-recap-stuff-up-umpires-gives-team-new-zealand-nervy-win-over-artemis.jpg」をダウンロード 「www_tvnz_co_nz_one-news_sport_other_americas-cup-recap-stuff-up-umpires-gives-team-new-zealand-nervy-win-over-artemis.pdf」をダウンロード
<Substance> The Swedes at one point looked like pulling another shock result out of the bag, before a late penalty on the home stretch ruined their dash for glory, a decision that umpires have since admitted they got wrong.
The umpires incorrectly declared that Artemis did not give Team New Zealand enough room to round the final mark, effectively handing the Kiwis the race right on the finish line by just 0.17 seconds.

|

« 読者からの質問と回答 「ウインドサーフィン競技規則におけるRRS 17」 | トップページ | AC: Blue flashing: The yacht has a penalty #1 »

Regatta Report」カテゴリの記事

コメント

コメントを書く



(ウェブ上には掲載しません)


コメントは記事投稿者が公開するまで表示されません。



« 読者からの質問と回答 「ウインドサーフィン競技規則におけるRRS 17」 | トップページ | AC: Blue flashing: The yacht has a penalty #1 »