« AC: Blue flashing: The yacht has a penalty #1 | トップページ | AC: Umpire Penalty #2 »

2017年6月 6日 (火)

QUESTION FROM A FAN; Crew Position; Lifelines

Case_36_jpegQUESTION FROM A READER;
>I am be wrong however I feel I see a lot of infringements regarding rule 49.2.
>The main infringement occurs when approaching finish line and crew stand on gunnel and act as "human Pole". This requires them to lean well outside lifelines for a long period of time.
>
I believe this is a lack of crew education and a deliberate rule infringement.
>Am I correct?
>If I am correct whose job is it to protest? Is this cause for a discretionary penalty?

>Band One
>4. Did anyone who was not part of the boat’s crew or support team contribute to the breach? YES
>Band 2.
>A positive answer to these questions would lead to increasing the penalty.
>1. Was the breach repeated? YES
>Thank you.  (M.S)

ANSWER BY THE EDITOR;
Answer #1:  
Any boats can protest a boat under RRS 60.1, the race committees can protest a boat under RRS 60.2, and the protest committees can protest a boat under RRS 60.3.
If anybody files a protest, the conclusion and decision of the protest hearing must be as follows;
     Protest conclusion:
     1. A competitor aboard boat X positioned his torso outside the lifelines contrary to RRS 49.2 .
    
2. Boat X broke RRS 49.2.
     Decision;
    
X is DSQ from race #1.

See attached Case 36 & Case 83 対訳 (pdf): 「case36_engjpn.pdf」をダウンロード 「case83_engjpn.pdf」をダウンロード

Answer #2:
This protest is not a subject of DP (Discretional Penalty). Because RRS 49 is not specified as DP in the SIs. Then the decision has to be disqualified under RRS 64.1.

Answer #3:
Such an action by a spinnaker trimmer is often seen here and there. I suppose that most sailors don't know RRS 49 for the reason of a lack of education.


Answer #4:
Here are some photographs which were taken recently at the neighboring regattas. Excuse me to carry these photos on this blog. I have no other purpose to quote them.
Please judge which boat (crew) breaks RRS 49.2 or not?
1_img_3072 3_middleboat_2016_2_2 2_middleboat_2016_2 4_2011_shimaseiki_b_039_1_2

|

« AC: Blue flashing: The yacht has a penalty #1 | トップページ | AC: Umpire Penalty #2 »

Learn the RRS 」カテゴリの記事

コメント

コメントを書く



(ウェブ上には掲載しません)


コメントは記事投稿者が公開するまで表示されません。



« AC: Blue flashing: The yacht has a penalty #1 | トップページ | AC: Umpire Penalty #2 »