カテゴリー「Sailing Events & Topics」の178件の記事

(セーリング・トピックス)

2020年3月19日 (木)

When in doubt, put tiller towards trouble - Follow-up reports #2

Whenindoubt_puttillertowardstrouble__scu When in doubt, put tiller towards trouble
Scuttlebutt Sailing News
Published on March 18th, 2020
by Craig Leweck, Scuttlebutt Sailing News

The collision between two J Class yachts has captivated our sport. Not often do these 140+ footers compete, and when they do, all effort is made to maintain safe distances. But to have a T-bone collision, and for it to be on video, has given voice to significant commentary.
This observation by Jack Karabasz is similar to many:
...

Notice of Race:ダウンロード - sca1.pdf
Protest Decision:ダウンロード - protestjclass.pdf
Case50 & 88:ダウンロード - case50___www.racingrulesofsailing.pdf ダウンロード - case88___www.racingrulesofsailing.pdf

https://www.sailingscuttlebutt.com/2020/03/18/when-in-doubt-put-tiller-towards-trouble/

Full Story:
ダウンロード - whenindoubt_puttillertowardstrouble__scuttlebuttsailingnews.jpg  

ダウンロード - whenindoubt_puttillertowardstrouble__scuttlebuttsailingnews.pdf


Che botta! Brutta collisione tra due J-Class ad Antigua 

Giornale della Vela  

https://youtu.be/Ly8fU3_dAtQ   <iframe width="640" height="360" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/Ly8fU3_dAtQ" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>

関連記事:
2020-03-17「Protest Decision: Topaz versus Svea - Follow-up reports」http://ventoorientale.cocolog-nifty.com/blog/2020/03/post-9a64a5.html 
2020-03-16「VIDEO: Massive J Class collision」http://ventoorientale.cocolog-nifty.com/blog/2020/03/post-2ce721.html

| | コメント (0)

2020年3月18日 (水)

J-Class Yacht

J-class J-S1 Svea / J-Class J8 Topaz 
Hoek Design Naval Architects  
**
https://youtu.be/uRAGzKJvQ7Y  <iframe width="640" height="360" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/uRAGzKJvQ7Y" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>

https://youtu.be/rVWLcIvjPU4  <iframe width="640" height="360" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/rVWLcIvjPU4" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Jclass-yacht_enwikipedia20200318-2

 

| | コメント (0)

Understanding the rule 14, avoiding contact

Www_regras_com_br_entendendoasregras_4un Understanding the rule 14, avoiding contact

A Comment on "VIDEO: Massive J Class collision"
Ricardo Lobato

20200318-2
Here are my thoughts on rule 14:
http://www.regras.com.br/site/index.php/entendendo-as-regras/4-understanding-the-rule-14-avoiding-contact
Topaz has very little to do. It would be better if she bear away at that point...
 
 

Logo_20200318115701 Entendendo as Regras
Ricardo Lobato, Criado: 05 Junho 2017

Understanding the rule 14, avoiding contact
This is probably one of the most forgotten rule in the book. Most of unexperienced protest committees will not apply this rule unless one boat says, during a hearing, she hit the other boat deliberately to produce an evidence.

However, in most incidents involving contact, at least one boat will have broken rule 14. All boats should avoid contact if reasonable possible, but the rule acknowledges that it is not always ‘reasonable possible’ to avoid a contact, but that is not acceptable as an excuse for not making every effort to avoid collision. Usually, a boat that fails to keep clear or does not give room or mark room also breaks rule 14 if there is contact, even without damage. A misjudgment by or a delay from the keep-clear boat cannot be justified as an excuse, even when at the last moment the boat makes every effort to avoid the collision. Poor seamanship is no excuse for breaking rule 14.(言い訳にならない)

The rule is softer for the right-of-way boat. She will only be penalized if the contact causes damage or injury....

 

*

https://youtu.be/we_KJpnECY4  <iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/we_KJpnECY4" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>

COPY:

ダウンロード - www_regras_com_br_entendendoasregras_4understandingtherule14.jpg  
ダウンロード - www_regras_com_br_entendendoasregras_4understandingtherule14.pdf
ダウンロード - case27___www.racingrulesofsailing.pdf
ダウンロード - case87___www.racingrulesofsailing.pdf

関連記事:
2020-03-17「Protest Decision: Topaz versus Svea - Follow-up reports」http://ventoorientale.cocolog-nifty.com/blog/2020/03/post-9a64a5.html
2020-03-16「VIDEO: Massive J Class collision」http://ventoorientale.cocolog-nifty.com/blog/2020/03/post-2ce721.html

| | コメント (0)

2020年3月17日 (火)

Protest Decision: Topaz versus Svea - Follow-up reports

20200316_15022777 Protest Decision: Topaz versus Svea
Scuttlebutt Sailing News
Published on March 16th, 2020 

Related post: 2020-03-16「VIDEO: Massive J Class collisionhttp://ventoorientale.cocolog-nifty.com/blog/2020/03/post-2ce721.html

When a massive collision occurred between two J Class yachts competing in the 2020 Superyacht Challenge Antigua, this frightening moment for these 130-foot monsters was captured on video. Here is the Protest Decision:ダウンロード - protestjclass.pdf

Involved parties:
TOPAZ – Peter Holmberg
SVEA – Charles Ogletree

Procedural matters:
This is a hearing conducted under J Class Addendum Q. Q5.3 allows the protest committee great flexibility on how the hearing is conducted. After a very significant collision we decided to speak with both parties separately to see if they agreed the facts. They were happy for us to write up the decision without a formal hearing.

Facts found:
1. Topaz was approaching the start line on Starboard approximately 1 minute 40 seconds before the start.
2. Svea on port was on a collision course with Topaz.
3. Despite a last minute turn to bear away, Svea collided with the port side of Topaz at the runner winch causing serious damage.
4. Topaz luffed to avoid when it was clear Svea was not keeping clear.
5. On Topaz two crew members were injured with one crew member suffering 4 broken ribs as he was pushed overboard by the bow of Svea. On Topaz, the port runner winch was torn off. The boom was broken. Both running back stays, mainsheet, and backstay broke under the load. The port gunwale was damaged from the runner winch to the stern. The mast was put under extreme load from the impact and will need further inspection.
6. On Svea, one crew member was pulled out of the boat by the runner tail of Topaz. His injuries were minor. The forward underbody of Svea was badly damaged.
7. Both boats immediately retired from the race.

Conclusion Rules:
RRS 10,14, 44.1(b) 62.1(b), Q5.3
Svea failed to keep clear as a port tack boat and broke rule 10, 14.
It was not reasonably possible for Topaz to avoid the collision.

Protestdecision_topazversussveavideo Decision:
Svea took the appropriate penalty by retiring.
Topaz is entitled to redress of average points for Race 1 based on her results in the remainder of the regatta.

Racing Rules of Sailing:
Rule 10: When boats are on opposite tacks, a port-tack boat shall keep clear of a starboard-tack boat.

Rule 14: A boat shall avoid contact with another boat if reasonably possible. However, a right-of-way boat or one entitled to room or mark-room
(a) need not act to avoid contact until it is clear that the other boat is not keeping clear or giving room or mark-room, and
(b) shall be exonerated if she breaks this rule and the contact does not cause damage or injury.

https://www.sailingscuttlebutt.com/2020/03/16/protest-decision-topaz-versus-svea/
VIDEO:Click2_20200317145201  https://www.facebook.com/100004336860724/videos/1501596166661598/

COPY: ダウンロード - protestdecision_topazversussvea.jpg  ダウンロード - protestdecision_topazversussvea.pdf
ダウンロード - protestdecision_topazversussveahtml.mhtml Protest Decisionダウンロード - protestjclass.pdf

Logo_20200317233001Regras.com.br
Ricardo Lobato
http://www.regras.com.br/site/
http://www.regras.com.br/site/index.php/entendendo-as-regras/38-superyatch-challenge-em-antigua-incidente-svea-x-topaz

Superyatch Challenge em Antigua - Incidente Svea x Topaz
*
https://youtu.be/pHUefDn0HKY
  <iframe width="847" height="476" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/pHUefDn0HKY" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>

20200318ss00001 ADDENDUM Q - J CLASS 2020
Q5.3
(a) Protests and requests for redress need not be in writing.
(b) The protest committee may inform the protestee and schedule the hearing in any way it considers appropriate and may communicate this orally.
(c) The protest committee may take evidence and conduct the hearing in any way it considers appropriate and may communicate its decision orally.
(d) If the protest committee decides that a breach of a rule has had no effect on the outcome of the race, it may impose a penalty of points or fraction of points or make another arrangement it decides is equitable, which may be to impose no penalty.
(e) If the protest committee penalizes a boat in accordance with instruction Q5.3 or if a standard penalty is applied, all other boats will be informed about the change of the penalized boat’s score.

関連記事:
2020-03-16「VIDEO: Massive J Class collision」http://ventoorientale.cocolog-nifty.com/blog/2020/03/post-2ce721.html  

| | コメント (0)

2020年3月16日 (月)

VIDEO: Massive J Class collision

20200316ss00001 VIDEO: Massive J Class collision
Scuttlebutt Sailing News
Published on March 12th, 2020

With four J Class yachts competing in the 10th anniversary of the Superyacht Challenge Antigua on March 12-15, it was the strongest class fleet since the 2017 J Class World Championship. However, disaster soon struck as during the final minutes leading into the start of Race 1, a collision occurred between Svea and Topaz. Both boats sustained damage and immediately retired from racing, with two crew members requiring medical attention. Both boats are no longer able to participate. Video courtesy of Nic Douglass and Bouwe Bekking.

Editor’s note: For the protest decision from the collision,
ダウンロード - protestjclass.pdf

https://www.sailingscuttlebutt.com/2020/03/12/video-massive-j-class-collision/

Warning: graphic collision 😔

😔 No reported fatalities; hope all injured parties recover swiftly. Topaz on starboard, Svea on port at the opening event of the J Class season at the Antigua Superyacht Challenge as filmed from on board Valsheda today - Nic 💔 #Repost Bouwe Bekking  ・・・ Talking about a bad day, svea and topaz: a boat you can repair, but persons not, luckily nobody died. Wishing injured rewmembers a good recovery. https://www.facebook.com/sailorgirlHQ/videos/550821412212115/
   
<iframe width="640" height="360" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/Af_60oI5zxs" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>
Copy:
ダウンロード - www_sailingscuttlebutt_com_2020_03_12_videomassivejclasscollision.jpg  
ダウンロード - www_sailingscuttlebutt_com_2020_03_12_videomassivejclasscollision.pdf 
Protest Decision:
ダウンロード - protestjclass.pdf

| | コメント (0)

2020年2月28日 (金)

Air NewZealandのコマーシャル・フィルム

Peter-burling-2 Air New Zealandのコマーシャル・フィルムです。エコノミー・スカイネストのModelに、ニュージーランドが世界に誇るスーパー・アスリートの6人が採用されています。
そのうち4人はセーラーで、それぞれが直近の2016年リオデジャネイロ・オリンピックのメダリストです。
彼の国のセーラーの人気度、注目度、ひいては重み、我が国とは格段の違いなのでしょうね?
日本だったらサッカーか野球?それにしてもスーパースターとなるとはてさて Naomi or Shibuko ?
*
https://youtu.be/8pcBVPdXz7E   <iframe width="640" height="360" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/8pcBVPdXz7E" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>

フィルムの登場順に。

Sara Cowley (Heptathlete: 7種競技)
- 2012 London Olympic Game NZL代表
- 2000 Oceanian Youth Champion
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sarah_Cowley_(athlete)

Mollymeech Molly Meech (Sailor)
- 2016 Rio de Janeiro Olympic Game 銀メダリスト (49erFX)
- 2013 Marseille World Championship  金メダリスト (49erFX)
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Molly_Meech

- 関連記事:2020-02-11「Staying healthy for Tokyo 2020 Olympics」http://ventoorientale.cocolog-nifty.com/blog/2020/02/post-e0f005.html
*Her teams withdrawal from the 2020 49er, 49erFX and Nacra 17 World Championships.


Sammeech_sailingnz Sam Meech (Sailor)
- Molly Meechの兄
- 2016 Rio de Janeiro Olympic Game 銅メダリスト (Laser)
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sam_Meech



Trenzo Bozzone (Triathlete:トライアスロン)
 

- 2013 Ironman 70.3 銀メダリスト
- 2008 Ironman 70.3 金メダリスト
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Terenzo_Bozzone

Blair_tuke_kerikeri_2016 Blair Tuke  (Sailor)
- 2016 Rio de Janeiro Olympic Game 金メダリスト (49er)
- 2012 London Olympic Game 銀メダリスト (49er)
- 2017 America's Cup Bermuda (ETNZ) カップウイナー
- 2017-2018 Volvo Ocean Race (mapfre) 第2位 
- 2015 World Sailor of the year (with Peter Burling)
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Blair_Tuke

Peter_burling_photospport Peter Burling (Sailor)
- 2016 Rio de Janeiro Olympic Game 金メダリスト (49er)
- 2012 London Olympic Game 銀メダリスト (49er)
- 2017 America's Cup Bermuda (ETNZ) カップウイナー
- 2017–2018 Volvo Ocean Race (Team Brunel)  第3位
- 2017 World Sailor of the year
- 2015 World Sailor of the year (with Blair Tuke)
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Peter_Burling_(sailor)

https://www.facebook.com/AirNewZealand/videos/2384168931683178/

| | コメント (0)

2020年2月20日 (木)

Laser Class : Massive judgement against boat builder

M-20200220-jpgMassive judgement against boat builder
Scuttlebutt Sailing News
Published on February 19th, 2020
A hearing in the United States District Court for the District of Connecticut found boat builder LaserPerformance liable for a sum of $6,857,736.30, payable to Laser designer Bruce Kirby.

This is the latest blow to LaserPerformance which had once been the dominant builder for the International Laser Class Association (ILCA) in North America and Europe but is not currently eligible to build class boats.
...
https://www.sailingscuttlebutt.com/2020/02/19/massive-judgement-against-boat-builder/

For the court document, click here. ダウンロード - juryverdict.pdf 

Full story:ダウンロード - m2020200220.jpg  
ダウンロード - m20massive20judgement20against20boat20builder.pdf  
ダウンロード - m20massive20judgement20against20boat20builderhtml.mht

 

-------------------------------------------------------
Laser Class removes LaserPerformance as approved builder

Scuttlebutt Sailing News
Published on March 27th, 2019
Austin, TX (March 27, 2019) – Managers of the world’s most popular racing sailboat class are seeking new builders to complement their existing network of manufacturers, the International Laser Class Association (ILCA) announced today...
Source: Eric Faust, Executive Secretary, ILCA
https://www.sailingscuttlebutt.com/2019/03/27/class-removes-laser-performance-as-approved-builder/

Full story:
ダウンロード - l20laser202020022020jpg.jpg 
ダウンロード - l20laser20class20removes20laserperformance20as20approved20builder.pdf 

ダウンロード - l20laser20class20removes20laserperformance20as20approved20builderhtml.mht

| | コメント (0)

2020年2月14日 (金)

津波の避難、赤白の旗で呼びかけ 聴覚障害の海水浴客に

20200214ss00001 2020年2月13日のニュース

津波の避難、赤白の旗で呼びかけ 聴覚障害の海水浴客に
朝日新聞デジタル
金山隆之介
2020年2月13日 19時40分
気象庁の有識者検討会は13日、津波警報などの発表時に海水浴場にいる聴覚障害者に対して、赤白格子の旗を使って避難を呼びかけることを決めた。視覚で分かる伝達手段を導入する自治体は少なく、旗を使っている自治体でもそれぞれデザインが異なっていた。この夏からの使用をめざす。...

https://www.asahi.com/articles/ASN2F6GB0N2FUTIL022.html

Copy:ダウンロード - 20200214ss00001.jpg ダウンロード - www.asahi.com_articles_asn2f6gb0n2futil022.pdf

気象庁報告書
津波警報等の視覚による伝達のあり方検討会(報告書概要) [PDF形式:604KB]:
ダウンロード - houkoku_gaiyo.pdf

津波警報等の視覚による伝達のあり方検討会(報告書) [PDF形式:2,942KB]:ダウンロード - houkoku_honbun.pdf



2016年7月16日のニュース(4年前)

オレンジ旗で津波避難 3海水浴場で訓練

神奈川新聞
2016年07月16日 02:00
津波発生時の迅速な避難を確認する訓練が15日、鎌倉市の3海水浴場(
材木座、由比ガ浜、腰越)と鎌倉海浜公園水泳プールで行われた。津波警報・注意報の発令を沖合に向けて視覚的に知らせる大小のオレンジフラッグを監視員が掲揚。放送で約5分間、避難を呼び掛けた。...
Kanagawa20200214_20200214225901  
Copy:ダウンロード - www.kanaloco.jp20jpeg.jpg  ダウンロード - www.kanaloco.jp.pdf

---------------------------------------------------------
困った困った RRS(セーリング競技規則)!

U_20200215001901 関連記事:2017-05-17『読者からの質問と回答 「U旗規則 スタート」- PowerPointプレゼンテーション』http://ventoorientale.cocolog-nifty.com/blog/2017/05/--u-16b6.html

RRS30.1 U旗規則
U旗が掲揚された場合には、スタート信号前の1分間に、艇体、乗員または装備の一部でもスタート・ラインの両端と最初のマークとで作られる三角形の中にあってはならない。艇がこの規則に違反して、特定された場合には、その艇は審問なしに失格とされなければならない。ただしレースが再スタートまたは再レースとなった場合は、失格としてはならない。

Unnamed RRS 付則L11.2 スタート・ラインは、スタート・マーク上のオレンジ旗掲揚しているポールの間とする。

 

Confusing!  IRPCAS(海上衝突予防法)
20200214ss00001_20200225215101


Oops! Croatian Navay
Naval_ensign_of_croatia_1941 https://youtu.be/kiBC8LSJAV4

| | コメント (0)

2020年2月11日 (火)

Staying healthy for Tokyo 2020 Olympics

Staying-healthy-for-tokyo-2020-olympics Staying healthy for Tokyo 2020 Olympics
Scuttlebutt Sailing News
Published on February 9th, 2020

The trend toward high performance in Olympic equipment has increased injuries. When boats go fast, they can also stop fast, and the boat is not always kind to the sailors. Staying healthy has become as much of the game as speed and tactics.
A reminder of this has come on the eve of the 2020 World Championships for the three high performance Olympic classes – 49er, 49erFX, and Nacra 17 – when 2016 Olympic silver medalist Alex Maloney and Molly Meech (NZL) * have withdrawn after Maloney fractured her foot in training two days earlier.
The kiwi duo were among the contenders to add to the title they won in 2013 but Maloney fell awkwardly when performing a tack during practice racing and hurt her foot. The regatta is being held February 10-15 in Geelong, Australia.
“We didn’t think it was too bad at first,” said coach Nathan Handley. “She came in and iced it and we thought it was just bruised but later on as it was still hurting we got some x-rays and found out there’s a fracture in the foot.”
... the following omitted.

Full story:ダウンロード - stayinghealthyfortokyo2020olympics.jpg
ダウンロード - stayinghealthyfortokyo2020olympics.pdf 
ダウンロード - stayinghealthyfortokyo2020olympicshtml.mht


*The Daily Show with Molly Meech

Sailing journalist Chris Museler sat down with Molly Meech (NZL) to discuss her teams withdrawal from the 2020 49er, 49erFX and Nacra 17 World Championships.

*
https://youtu.be/_in7lmhIe4k
  <iframe width="640" height="360" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/_in7lmhIe4k" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>
pdf:ダウンロード - vimeo20the20daily20show20with20molly20meech.pdf

| | コメント (0)

2020年1月31日 (金)

Sorry, but this is a bridge too far

Sorry-but-this-is-a-bridge-too-far-jpeg Sorry, but this is a bridge too far
Scuttlebutt Sailing News
Published on January 27th, 2020 
by Craig Leweck

<an extract>
...
However, the sailors and Class Rules are losing my love.

But really… 8 knots?

Offwind sailing is now a rock-fest, with full rolling of the boat back and forth to increase propulsion. Yes, they still gybe on shifts, but boat speed is king, and the activity in the boat is manic.

I understand this to be a recent class development, and as simple as it sounds to rock like mad, it’s hard to do well, which was well illustrated in the Medal Race of 2020 World Cup Series Miami.

Japan rounded the final upwind mark in the lead, ahead of the Spanish team by seven seconds, with one remaining downwind leg to the finish. No other team was close, allowing the Spaniards to show the world they are the rocking kings.

The Japanese could only watch as the Spanish flew by, winning by 15 seconds in a display of athleticism and skill that I hope never occurs elsewhere in recreational sailing.
...
Judge for yourself… here’s video coverage of the Miami Medal Race downwind leg.
...

風下レグの帆走はまさにロック・フェスチバルである・・・・

日本(土居・木村組 JPN11)
は、最終風上マークを首位で回航し、
あとはフィニッシュに向かう風下レグを残すのみであった、2位のスペイン・チーム(ESP44)には7秒の差をつけていた

他のチームは近くにはおらず、スペインがロッキング・キングであることを世界に見せつけるままにしていた。

スペイン・チームが飛ぶように走り、楽しみのセーリングではどんな場所でもあってほしくないと願う競技の技量と技術を見せつけて、15秒の差をつけて勝利するのを、日本チームはただただ見つめるだけであった。

-----------------------------------------------------------------
470 Men Medal Race | Hempel World Cup Series Miami 2020 
World Sailing TV (25m18s)
**
https://youtu.be/bvZzXJqrjwc  <iframe width="854" height="480" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/bvZzXJqrjwc" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>
----------------------------------------------------------------
Full story:ダウンロード - sorry2cbutthisisabridgetoofarjpeg.jpg  ダウンロード - sorry2cbutthisisabridgetoofarpdf.pdf   ダウンロード - sorry2cbutthisisabridgetoofarhtml.mht

470 Class Rules
C.1.1 RULES
(a) The following RRS 2017-2020 rules shall apply as amended below:
(1) If the average wind speed is clearly over 8 knots across the course the race committee may signal in accordance with RRS Appendix P5 that pumping, rocking and ooching are permitted. This changes rules RRS 42.2(a), RRS42.2(b), RRS42.2(c).

参考記事
:
2011-02-06「Rule 42 Most Common Breaches 470 - 規則42もっともよくある違反470クラス」
http://ventoorientale.cocolog-nifty.com/blog/2011/02/isaf-rule-42-mo.html

2011-03-12「Rule 42 Most Common Breaches Optimist - 規則42もっともよくある違反オプティミストクラス」
http://ventoorientale.cocolog-nifty.com/blog/2011/03/rule-42-most-co.html
2014-06-03『読者からの質問と回答 「規則42の解説」』http://ventoorientale.cocolog-nifty.com/blog/2014/06/42-7d5c.html

Bridge-too-far 2020-02-17updated:
当記事のタイトルである ”this is a bridge too far”の意味が解りませんでした。

ジャッジ仲間のChris Loewが教えてくれました。Thanks.
Dear Mr. Yamaoka,
"A bridge too far" means it is "too much." In World War II, the Allies tried to take several bridges including one over the Rhine River, to attack Germany. They succeeded in taking several bridges, but could not take the one over the Rhine.
There is a Wikipedia page about it: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/A_Bridge_Too_Far_(film)
The author means that all of that rocking and pumping is just too much for him to accept.

Regards,
Chris

A Bridge Too Far - 遠すぎた橋
WikipediA あらすじ
ノルマンディー上陸作戦から3ヶ月後の1944年9月、潰走するドイツ軍を追撃していた連合国軍の補給線は、600キロにも伸びきってしまった。連合国軍は戦力を二分し、ジョージ・S・パットン中将率いるアメリカ第3軍は南方ルートで、バーナード・モントゴメリー元帥率いるイギリス第21軍は北方ルートで進軍していたため、どちらの補給を優先するかの問題も浮上していた。シチリア上陸作戦以来、パットンに強いライバル心を抱いていたモントゴメリーは、後の歴史家に彼最大の汚点と言われた「マーケット・ガーデン作戦」を立案、連合国軍最高司令官アイゼンハワー大将を説得する。彼は政治的配慮から、結局この無謀な作戦を承認する事となる。

この作戦は、3個空挺師団(英第1、米82、米101)と1個空挺旅団(ポーランド第1)が敵中深く降下し(マーケット作戦)、ベルギー・オランダ間の5つの橋(Oversteek、Waalbrug、その他に移動式Bailey bridge)を占領、橋頭堡を築くことで機甲軍団(英第30)が駆け抜けて(ガーデン作戦)、一気にライン河を渡りオランダを解放。ドイツの喉元にクサビを打ち込んでベルリンに侵攻し、クリスマスまでには戦争を終らせるという思惑だった。 連合軍は、天候や情報の錯綜に苦しめられながらも、第3の橋の占領まで成功する。しかし、第4の橋の攻略の頃から、作戦の無謀さが露呈し始め、戦闘は悲惨さを増していく。

| | コメント (0)

より以前の記事一覧